Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Sunday's at Mom's

Sunday’s at Mom’s

Writing 101, Day Ten: Happy (Insert Special Occasion Here)!

Today, be inspired by a favorite childhood meal. For the twist, focus on infusing the post with your unique voice — even if that makes you a little nervous.

When I think of my favorite childhood meal it brings back memories of my family. My mom’s Italian and we’re from Jersey. So that means Sunday dinners were always meatballs and pasta and the best Italian bread in the world.

I remember my mom standing in the kitchen rolling all those meatballs one by one. When she finished she would then start frying them in olive oil till they were just golden brown. The smell of the Italian gravy surrounding the house was enough to send someone running to ask her, when’s dinner?.  And once those meatballs were done frying my brother and I would always steal at least one before they were dropped into the huge pot of gravy.

As I write this prompt I can smell the meatballs frying and that gravy cooking. it was and still is an all day ordeal when mom cooks Italian. Of course now I can make the meatballs and gravy myself.

But when mom does it she puts that extra spice that’s called love into her food. What can I say my mom loves to cook and when she’s making her meatballs and gravy there’s nothing like it in the world.

The way she smiles when my older brother stands over a pot of her gravy and does the taste test as he calls it. Or the look on my mom’s face when we are all around the table laughing, eating, talking and one of my nephews who’s her grandchild ask for seconds.

My mom just loves to have her family together and of course loves to see that her family is always well fed. And when we are all together it’s like old times in Jersey. Of course the family has grown. But we all still love moms meatballs and gravy. Of course we love each other too. Hey what can I say; Were just one big happy Italian family from Jersey.

We all have our memories of something we loved we eat. For my entire family there’s no doubt it’s Sunday dinner at mom’s..

I don’t think this was one of the prompt I was supposed to write. But I just couldn’t resist..Salute’.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-day-ten/

