Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There's always the airport lounge.

There’s always the airport lounge.

Terminal Time

You’re at the airport, your flight is delayed for six more hours, and none of your electronic devices is working. How do you pass the time?

Argh! No internet access! Oh Shit! What would we do without the internet? Lol, there’s lots of things to do in the airport.

First I would people watch for awhile.  Then I’d take a walk through the airport shops. Have you ever noticed that these shops have some wild and crazy things?  I love airport shopping. Not that I can buy much in these shops. But it’s fun to browse.

There’s expensive purses and designer everything.  Tee shirts galore, from where you’ve been to where you’re going. There’s pins, jewelry and even an Alex and Ani store with my favorite bracelets. In fact I purchased a bracelet with a sea shell charm the last time we were in the airport and delayed.

So anyway, I’ve shopped and I’ve grabbed a coffee maybe even a cinnamon bun. And now I’m looking to sit down and write. I don’t need the internet to write. I only need electricity. And the airport has to have electricity. So I’m all set. I can write for hours. And I actually like writing in the airport. There’s no one to bother me. And they have these little cubicles with outlets to plug your computers into.  It’s like you are in your own little world.

And if by chance there’s no electricity or I just don’t feel like writing> Well in that case I could always walk into one of the many airport bars or a sexy “Lounge” as they’re called. The best thing to do is wait an hour after your plane has been delayed. That way when you walk into the lounge for a few cocktails most have already got their buzz on. They’re all happy and talking about the vacation they were just on. Or the vacation they’re going too.

So when a new person walks in they can usually just sit down and join in on the friendly conversation. Or at least that’s what I always do. I usually start out with some pleasantries.  A smile and a “How you Doin” usually does the trick. That kicks off some questions of where I’m from? Accents are a great way to start a conversation.  From there you get to meet people from all walks of life who are just happy to be spending time with others who are in the same boat as they are.

Once we get around to what everyone does the and they all find out I write erotic romance, well that’s when the party takes off in a whole other direction. It’s a great excuse for everyone to talk about sex. The stories you will hear about one night stands and crazy nights of sex are always the best. And it’s usually the quiet one that hasn’t said much in the last hour that will start laughing and have the best sex story.

By the time the plane is ready to board you know everyone that’s been in that airport lounge. Most will sleep the entire way home. But others will continue to party until they get cut off by a flight attendant who’s not in the mood for a loud obnoxious passenger. So all in all not having the internet isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

I would be fine with a six hour delay. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it..

pingback, http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/terminal-time/

TRACKBACKS & PINGBACKS

  1. The Times They Are A’Changing | The Magic Black Book
  2. Change of Seasons | Andante Cantabile
  3. Daily Prompt: Change | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  4. Change | suzie81′s Blog
  5. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | A mom’s blog
  6. Freaky Friday | Geek Ergo Sum
  7. Freaky Friday | Life & Times
  8. A Multitude Of Casualties | a former clarity
  9. Body Swap Beastliness | alienorajt
  10. fallen tree (Change) | photo potpourri
  11. Let’s Get Our Freaky Friday On! | why i left my job
  12. Daily Prompt: Mother/Daughter Friday? | A Good One
  13. Mickey Ratt’s Freaky Friday | The Living Dead
  14. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  15. Change | dandelionsinwind
  16. Nectar | cellarfloor
  17. Cat-astrophe | Untitled Entity
  18. Freaky Friday Fantasies | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  19. Gribouillage 54. Retraite | Icezine
  20. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | Under the Monkey Tree
  21. Night | Life is great
  22. My Freaky Friday with Barack Obama | contrailsonmyheart
  23. Freaky Friday! | EMBRACE YOU
  24. gabble snarf pfft heehee | thematticuskingdom
  25. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | My Atheist Blog
  26. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday « Mama Bear Musings
  27. Change | marsowords
  28. Friday Faves | Karen Zeigler
  29. Everybody Knows | Rocket Girl
  30. Allowing | shame
  31. Empathetic Change … My hands are trembling, How my heart yearns within me! | kemkoh
  32. … And Darkness Falls. | Forlorn Hope: A Diary Of A Broken Heart
  33. Freaky Friday | The Nameless One
  34. If I were Grandma for a day | Grandma Drives Me Crazy
  35. Hey! Those Are My Donuts! | Molly Greye
  36. It all depends on who I get switched with | djgarcia94
  37. Change- Today’s Project- VW Beetle seats for my Barbeque | The Rider

Hope that works..

