Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Never judge a book by it's cover. Try reading the blurb.

Never judge a book by it’s cover. Try reading the blurb.

Binding Judgment

Does it ever make sense to judge a book by its cover — literally or metaphorically? Tell us about a time you did, and whether that was a good decision or not.

The only time I judge a book by it’s cover is when its an actual book. And even then I wind up reading the blurb to see what’s inside.

As for people, I do my best not to judge other human beings. I wasn’t raised to hate someone for no reason. My parents taught us to never judge a person by the color of their skin. Or for what they were wearing or not wearing. And a person’s job doesn’t define who they really are inside.

I learned a long time ago that it doesn’t matter if a person is wearing designer duds or if they have on a pair of dirty sneakers. For me it was usually the person with the designer duds that let me down.

It’s usually money that we get judged for. The not having any part. I remember going to a girlfriends country club as a child. I was about seven years old. My parents couldn’t afford a country club. So when I was asked to go my mom said sure.

I heard all those mom’s asking who I belonged too. And I was thankful that the mom I came with held her head high when she would say, “She’s one of mine.” Of course when I looked up at her she always had a bright smile for me and hugged me close. But I still felt like I didn’t belong. Those are the first memories I have of being judged for not being born into a privileged life.

But now that I’m older and much wiser I do believe that People are people. And most are really just trying to live their lives the best way they know how. There hearts are usually in the right place. I try and smile at others as I pass them, Or say hello. and for the most part I usually get a smile back. And I always hope that maybe I made a difference in that persons life for that one split second.

So really if someone’s carrying a designer purse or one from a flea market who cares. Or if the person at the check out counter has skin that’s a different color than mine, why should it matter to me?. And does having money or not make the person good or bad? I don’t think so.

And If two people of the same gender are holding hands how does that effect my life anyway?  We are all different. We all come from different backgrounds. Have different preference in who we love. And what it all comes down to is we are all just trying to live our lives the best way we know how. We are all looking for love and happiness. Life is too short to be judging others.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it..

pingback;http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/terminal-time/

