Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When you do something scary or stressful — bungee jumping, public speaking, etc. — do you prefer to be surrounded by friends or by strangers? Why?

My first thought is; This is the assignment for today?

1438de586c0020097184b5c84d3b70e8

When I do something scary or stressful in public of course I would prefer to be surrounded by friends. Take singing for instance; Yes I can sing. I have always been able to carry a tune. And there have even been times when I got up the courage to step up on a stage or in front of strangers but surrounded by friends or familiar faces and sing my little heart out.

Yes of course there was always applause. I’m not crazy. I wouldn’t just get up and sing if I was tone deaf. I have seen people do that. And those tone deaf people aren’t afraid of anything. Afterwards I was always glad I did it. But It usually involved a few shots of courage for me to stand in front of strangers and just sing. I don’t know why.

I used to be able to sing in front of anyone who asked me to as a child. My Mom always sat in the back row of every performance. I would look out over the crowd of people and see her smiling face singing along with me to what ever song I had to sing that year.

But I think as I got older I just didn’t have the confidence in myself to sing in public. I would always prefer to have people who love and care about me around while I’m doing something scary. That way if someone starts throwing something at me at least I will get a hug when I do make it off the stage.

Oh I have said a million times that in my next life I will be fearless and do what ever I like, Lol.  Singing or doing anything in public is stressful. And even when you have your friends or family by your side nerves take over. But leave me alone with the radio on and watch out, lol..

As for bungee jumping, I don’t have to think about it. It’s just never going to happen. But I wouldn’t mind taking a ride on a zip-line. Maybe through a wine vinyard or over Vegas.  That I think I could do no matter who was around me. I would even wave to the strangers as well as my family and friends.

Pingback http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/witness-protection/

